Homemade Flaxseed bread

It seems like I’ve been on a bake-my-own healthy bread kick lately.  I have been inspired by trying out different recipes that call for minimal ingredients whose results are dishes that are still tasty and nutritious.  Last week, I explored a delicious and slightly sweet avocado bread. This week it was more about a hearty and healthy flaxseed bread.

I was always curious about homemade flaxseed bread (outside of store bought versions) so I did a quick google search last weekend on a version I can try.  I settled on this one from Divaliciousrecipes.com.

If you want a bread that is very low in carbs and gluten free, then this is the loaf for you since flaxseed is low in carbs…

Source: Flaxseed Bread Loaf – Divalicious Recipes

I liked the fact that this did not have any sweetener so one can really taste the flax in its authentic form.  So I made my way to Trader Joes and bought myself a pack of flaxseed meal. I was super excited about this recipe as this was my first time using flax in baking.

Long story short, I love the result of this bread bake. Its nutty and moist at the same time.  Because it was not sweet, you can have it literally with any savory filling just like the over-the-counter kind. It shall definitely be repeated.

Here are the different stages of my first try at making  flaxseed bread!

img_7785 img_7787 img_7788

Leave a Reply

